Loading articles...

Harper appoints five new senators from Ontario, Alberta, Saskatchewan and N.L.

OTTAWA – Prime Minister Stephen Harper has chosen five new senators.

They fill two vacancies from Ontario and empty seats from Saskatchewan, Alberta and Newfoundland and Labrador.

Lynn Beyak, a small-business owner from northwestern Ontario, and Victor Oh of Mississauga, president of a property development firm, fill the Ontario seats.

Doug Black, a senior Calgary lawyer and founding president of the Energy Policy Institute of Canada, takes the Alberta seat.

Denise Batters, a Regina lawyer and a senior figure in the province’s Crown Investments Corp., will sit for Saskatchewan.

David Wells, until recently the deputy CEO of the Canada-Newfoundland and Labrador Offshore Petroleum Board, takes the final open seat.

Join the conversation

Please read our commenting policies